Google I/O 2017: start time, live blog, and schedule for today’s keynote

18
views
Advertisement

Google I/O is Google’s annual developer conference, a three-day event where the company details the future of its various products and services, along with hosting education sessions for creators and developers who use those services.

The biggest news from the conference is expected to be announced at the opening keynote, hosted by Google CEO Sundar Pichai at the Shoreline Amphitheater in Mountain View, California. We’re not expecting too much in the way of new hardware this year — recently, Google tends to have been saving that kind of announcement for October — but there should be plenty of news on the software side of things.

Google Assistant and Google Home are expected to be big focuses, as Google works to continue to build out its own digital assistant. That’s become even more important with the continued pressure from Amazon (coming off new hardware announcements and a sizable lead in developer support) and Microsoft (which is building its Cortana assistant into cars, speakers, and more).

Additionally, there should be more news on Android O, the next version of Google’s mobile OS, which was released in developer preview earlier this year. Could Google still have some big features hidden up its sleeve? We’ll find out. And don’t forget: we still have yet to learn what confectionary treat the update will be named after (even though it should be “Oreo”).

Plus, there could be news on Google’s VR plans, messaging apps, and updates to Chrome OS. As always, The Verge will be on the ground in Mountain View to bring you all the latest news as it happens. Here’s how you can follow along:

HOW TO WATCH

Starting time: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 6PM / Berlin 7PM / Moscow: 8PM / Beijing: 1AM (May 18th) / Tokyo: 2AM (May 18th) / Sydney 3AM (May 18th).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Advertisement

Keynote live-streaming: Google’s live stream is available via the company’s own website.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and details as they emerge.

Source

SHARE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here