Apple WWDC 2017: live stream, start time, and schedule for today’s keynote

7
views
Advertisement

WWDC 2017 is finally here, and it’s almost time to see what Apple has in store for this year, with everything from a new version of iOS to brand-new hardware possibly making an appearance.

Google and Microsoft had their turns in the past few weeks to show their visions of the future of computing, and now it’s Apple’s turn. As has become tradition, Apple CEO Tim Cook will take the stage to kick off the conference with a keynote that will highlight what the Cupertino company has planned for your Apple hardware and software.

On the software side of things, expect to get our first look at iOS 11 and macOS 10.13, along with whatever California locale Apple decides to dub the latest version of desktop OS as well as the annual updates to the tvOS and watchOS platforms. While the rumor mill has been quieter than usual when it comes to Apple’s software revisions this year, the word is that there might be an updated user interface in store for the iPhone, along with some more minor updates to Apple’s other operating systems. Of course, all eyes will be on Siri this year. As Amazon, Google, and even Microsoft are focusing attention on their own AI assistants, Apple is in danger of falling behind.

That brings us right to the hardware side of the rumors, which are centered on the introduction of a new “Siri speaker” that would bring Apple’s digital assistant on a level playing field with devices like the Amazon Echo or Google Home. There are conflicting reports as to what the device would actually look like, but if Apple can bring itself to open up Siri to developers like it has for watchOS or tvOS, it could be a powerful platform connecting the various components of Apple’s ecosystem together.

Along with a smart speaker, we could see some spec-bumped MacBooks, and maybe a new screen size for the iPad Pro. Plus, astute observers have noted that June 2017 is the actual 10th anniversary of the original iPhone launch… and while new phones this early in the year seem highly unlikely, anything could happen.

As always, The Verge will be on the ground in San Jose to bring you all the latest news as it happens. Here’s how you can follow along:

Starting time: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 6PM / Berlin: 7PM / Moscow: 8PM / Beijing: 1AM (June 6th) / Tokyo: 2AM (June 6th) / Sydney: 3AM (June 6th).

Advertisement

Live blog: Tune into The Verge live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Keynote live stream: Apple’s live stream is available on the company’s own website, though it requires either Safari or Microsoft Edge on the desktop.

Live tweeting: Follow @verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and details as they emerge.

Source

SHARE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here